Sunday, December 13, 2015

Leadoff with Lee 12.13.15 #UFC194 #McGregor #Heisman #Bucks

By @cleeverizon

Derrick Henry from Alabama added another piece of hardware to his trophy case. After winning the Doak Walker and Maxwell awards Thursday night, Henry becomes the 81st winner of the Heisman Trophy. He has been compared to Eddie George, who in 1995 averaged 6.0 yards per rush, 152.2 rushing yards per game and 23 rushing touchdowns. This year in 2015, Derrick Henry averaged 5.9 yards per rush, 152.8 rushing yards per game and also scored 23 touchdowns.

First Place votes: Derrick Henry 378, Christian McCaffrey 290, Deshaun Watson 148, Baker Mayfield 34

- The 116th Army vs. Navy game took place yesterday, with the Navy Midshipman defeating the Army Black Knights 21-17. QB Keenan Reynolds of Navy scored his 85th career rushing touchdown. Most all time in DIV I history(FBS-FCS). Reynolds tied the previous record set by Adrian Peterson. He tied Peterson's record with a 58 yard touchdown run in the first quarter. In the second quarter he secured the record on a one yard scamper. Reynolds also set the school record for career passing touchdowns with 30.

- Penn State hired former Fordham head coach Joe Moorhead as their new offensive coordinator. Moorhead will replace John Donovan, who was fired the day after the team lost its season finale tat Michigan State.

- The Philadelphia 76ers are discussing adding Mike D'Antonio as associate head coach. D'Antonio could join the staff sometime within the next week or so.

- The Milwaukee Bucks snapped the 24 game win streak of the Golden State Warriors, defeating them 108-95. The two longest winning streaks in the NBA history (1971-72 Lakers 33, Warriors 28) were both snapped by the Bucks. The Warriors scored a season-low of 95 points. This was also the 1st game scoring less than 100 points this season and the Warriors average 13 three pointers a night were just 6 of 26 from behind the arc. Greg Monroe led Milwaukee with 28 points.

- Jose Aldo entered UFC 194 at 25-1 (7-0 UFC), and made his 8th defense of the UFC featherweight title and had a 18-fight win streak. But it was Conor McGregor who left as the new undisputed featherweight champion with a victory in just 13 seconds.

All I can say is, it was a two hit fight, McGregor hit Aldo and Aldo hit the ground. McGregor's 15-fight win streak is intact and hasn’t lost since November 2010. Aldo hadn’t lost for 10 years, since losing a lightweight fight in Brazil in 2005, and he was widely regarded as the sport’s best fighter. But there is going to be a new entrant in that discussion.

No comments:

Post a Comment